Super Late Diaper Reviews

I really meant to do these ages ago.  I mean, almost 2 years ago!  Kids keep a mama busy!

Here are a few reviews of diapers that I decided NOT to carry or use for my family.  If you love these diapers, that’s great!  They didn’t work for us, and I can’t sell something that I don’t believe in wholeheartedly.  My reviews come from my personal use of the diaper as well as a business point of view, as both a mom and business owner, both factors come into play when I try out a diaper.  Therefore, both views are presented here.

Sunbaby OS

A friend gave us one to try out when D was smaller.  This is a “China Cheapie” brand, there are a few re-labels out there as well (a re-label means the exact same diaper is slapped with a different label and sold as a different brand).  They retail for around $8, and lots of co-ops open up so you can buy them for $4.  They are a pocket diaper with microfibre insert. My first thought, is “how can you sell a diaper for $4 and make money without cutting corners?”, but I guess other people aren’t so worry about those parts.  Just by touching the diaper, I can feel the difference in materials used, the PUL is very thin compared to the top brands.  Trying to use that diaper confirmed for me why I invested in quality diapers.  It wouldn’t even stay snapped long enough to get both sides snapped closed.  So, that is where the review ends.  We couldn’t get it to stay on.

Pros: Cheap

Cons: Wouldn’t stay on, low quality, re-label, possibilities of immoral and possibly illegal business practices to keep the price so low while still making a profit (this is not confirmed, just my own personal worry).

Go Green Champ 2.0

007This company approached me to carry their diapers, I wanted to try them first of course, so I requested a sample.  They gladly sent me one, actually, a week or so later another person from their company also sent me one.  Let’s just say, a little red flag went up in my mind when that happened.  So, we now had two, which meant I could compare th006em for quality!  These retail for about $16 and are a one-size pocket diaper with both ends open and the microfibre insert snaps in so it won’t get lost in the wash.  The colourful snaps are supposed to help with babysitters or other people who don’t normally change your baby, so you can say “hey, put them on the red snaps for the right size”, which is a neat idea!  From what I understand, they are also a brand that gets re-labeled, but I didn’t know that at the time.  The PUL on these diapers is thicker than the “China Cheapies”, but not as thick as the top brands.  It fit D nicely as you can see in the picture.  The snap in insert was a huge pain in my rear!  It never seemed to come out the right side, it always pulled the whole diaper inside out!  I would rather “search” for the insert than have to turn the diaper right side out again after every wash.  After about 3 weeks, these diapers landed at the bottom of our pile and didn’t get used.

Pros: Nice fit, rainbow snaps to help with fit, mid-range price

Cons: Turns inside out in the wash, re-label, 4 snaps for closure was too many for me

Ones & Twos

IMAG0107IMAG0108At the time, this was a new brand, so I gave them a try.  An All-in-one with a booster and a hook & loop type closure.  Retails for around $24.95.   The materials were nice, the laundry tabs were the soft “velcro” that’s used on kids toys and dolls so it wouldn’t scratch, the “hook” part was the kind that doesn’t get caught on random things.  This was both good and bad, the adhesion was so strong on the laundry tabs, that I couldn’t get them apart sometimes and it became a frustration.  I am a snap lover to begin with, but I had high hopes for this closure since it wasn’t the usual hook & loop.  The fit was ok, and I liked the idea of it being an AIO but including the additional absorbancy if you needed the extra soaker.  However, the built in absorbancy doesn’t come up very far in the front, with a boy, I didn’t feel that we could use the diaper without the booster to compensate.

Pros: good quality, average price

Cons: Adhesion to laundry tabs too strong, no absorbancy up front for boys

Leave a Reply

